Summertime Sadness in May ♨

Hey!

It has been a month since our class ended and I have to wait for four months for the next school year. It would be cool if I have a line-up of things to do in summer but I don’t have and so I spent April at home, reading, cleaning, searching, taking photos and reading again. But mostly I put my headphones on or consumed my time in Youtube (I know, it sounds like I’m really lonely and boring). Lately, I was really stuck with the songs I played and found myself drowning into it.

So, I want to share you those songs that caught my interest and will be part of my playlist this month of May. These are not all new some were released months ago (last year) and all are my personal choice so I’m not expecting you to like it (but still hope you like it).

• Vance Joy – Riptide
Whenever I heard the intro my feet start to move on its own. This song is really catchy and rhythmic and when the chorus began to play I wholeheartedly join in. I love James Keogh’s voice, it doesn’t only sound so summer-y but also soulful. Another things is the sound of the ukulele— I really love the sound of it— that I think made the song upbeat.

• Charli XCX – Boom Clap
It’s already summer in the Philippines and I think a good way to feel the raging sun is enjoying the heat while listening to this song. Who won’t start dancing with this kind of beat?

• Fun. feat. Janelle Monáe – We Are Young
I just stumbled upon this days ago and again it made me lost to it. I found myself singing along and waving my hands. Well, who wouldn’t? This is a beautiful catchy and upbeat song.

• Carly Rae Jepsen – I Really Like You
Thanks to Stuart Edge I found out about this song. It is really, really catchy. The first time I heard it I thought that it has the 80’s vibe and I really, really can’t stop grooving to it (Too much really).

• Becky G – Shower
This is another song to sing along. The blending of the harmony and the beat is great. I also can relate because I dance in front of the mirror and I sing in the shower.

• Bruno Mars – Uptown Funk
The first time I heard this song I automatically fell in love. It is so uplifting and perfect if you’re in the mood to dance.gifhj

• Lana Del Rey – Summertime Sadness
I enjoyed the cover of Miley Cyrus that was why I searched for the real singer and went hitting repeat. You know, not all summer are about having fun and making a new memorable adventure. There are also people who maybe facing a big heartbreak and just feel sad and alone and this song is perfect for that moment.

• Sia – Fire Meet Gasoline
I love Sia and all her works so I’m going to be biased about this. But come on, this is a great song, though this doesn’t speak of summer it’s still a good song to listen when you have nothing to do and you just want to lay down for awhile or maybe this can be your lullaby.

*BONUS:

I’m including BIGBANG’s new songs, Loser and Bae Bae. I waited for two years for their comeback and they didn’t fail me, us (VIPs). These songs are good to play in this month of May especially that they have a good balance.

Loser has this melodious, heart-wrenching tune that makes you want to tear up. The lyrics is good too, I personally like. In the other hand, Bae Bae is the opposite, though the chorus is a bit soft. It’s a mixture of hiphop and R&B (which is the style of BB). The music video is R19 because it contains loads of symbolism and the lyrics has sexual meaning.

gifh

There you go. That’s all for my May Playlist, and I still want to explore new music (mainly indie) to give my phone new tracks. I found this song on Youtube and music streaming apps so give it a try and maybe you’ll find more awesome songs than what I have.

Cheers and Godspeed.

xx,
M

What do you think?

